Bassett, Brunson, Jordan, Gordy among honorees at Black Cinema & Television’s 5th Annual Celebration – Deadline | Episode Movies

A star-studded lineup is in store for the Critics Choice Association’s 5th Annual Celebration of Black Cinema and Television, taking place on Monday, December 5, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

Angela Bassett, Berry Gordy, Qunita Brunson, Danielle Deadwyler, Michael B. Jordan, Jonathan Majors and Scott “Kid Cudi” Mescudi are just a few of the names honored at the event, which has become a staple of awards season It continues to honor the best in black cinema and television.

Now in its fifth year, the Celebration will recognize 15 categories as part of a special night that recognizes excellence in Black filmmaking and television.

“That Celebration of black cinema and television has grown tremendously over the past five years,” said Joey Berlin, CEO of CCA. “We are very excited to recognize such outstanding projects in both film and television and to honor these incredible actors and filmmakers for their work.”

Songwriter, producer, director, entrepreneur and founder of Motown, Gordy will receive the Icon Award for his unparalleled contribution to music, film and pop culture Black Panther: Wakana Forever Star Bassett receives the Career Achievement Award for her outstanding career and her recent role as Queen Ramonda in the Marvel Studios film.

Actor, producer and director Jordan receives the Melvin Van Peebles Trailblazer Award for his overall contribution to the industry and in celebration of his directorial debut with the United Artists Releasing film. Creed III. In addition to directing the film, he reprises his role as Adonis Creed and produces under his production banner, Outlier Society. Grammy Award-winning musician, multi-platinum artist and actor Kid Cudi is honored with the Groundbreaker Award for his starring role as Jabari in the Netflix television event. entergalactic, which he also created.

Emmy-winning writer, producer and actress Brunson receives the Actress Award for Television for her role as Janine Teagues on ABC’s hit series. Abbott Elementary Schoolwhich she created and is also an Executive Producer.

Deadwyler receives the Actress Award for Film for her role as Mamie Till-Mobley in the film Orion Pictures and United Artists Releasing. until

Emmy and Critics’ Choice Award nominees Majors will receive the Actor Award for Film for his role as Jesse Brown in the Columbia Pictures and Black Label Media air warfare epic. dedication.

The Director Award for Film is presented to director Gina Prince-Bythewood for her work on TriStar Pictures and Entertainment Ones The Woman King.

Brian Tyree Henry receives a Supporting Actor Award for his performance as James Aucoin in Apple Original Films and A24. dam.

Nicco Annan receives the Actor Award for Television for his role as Uncle Clifford on the hit series STARZ. P Valley.

Writer-director Elegance Bratton will accept the Social Justice Award for his inspirational work on the A24 film. The inspection.

Actress and comedian Ayo Edebiri receives IMDbPro’s Rising Star Award for her role as Sydney Adamu in the FX series. The bear. And Quincy Isaiah will also accept the Rising Star Award for his role as Magic Johnson on the HBO Original series. Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty.

Writer/director Nikyatu Jusa will accept the Breakthrough Film Award for the film Amazon Studios and Blumhouse. Nannyan award winner at Sundance earlier this year.

The Ensemble Award is presented to the cast of the ABC sitcom, The Wonderful Years.

“It’s really been a year of celebration,” said CCA Board Member Shawn Edwards, executive producer of the event. “The unprecedented amount of content about the Black experience in film and television made it very difficult to select our award winners for this landmark year. And our special Icon Award recipient, Berry Gordy, through his Motown productions in the ’70s and ’80s, broke down a heavy door with a slew of films and television series that helped pave the way for future black storytellers.”

The Critics Choice Association Celebration of black cinema and television is hosted by veteran comedian Bill Bellamy and will be televised on KTLA in January and on Nexstar channels nationwide throughout February in honor of Black History Month.

The show is produced by Madelyn Hammond and Javier Infante of Madelyn Hammond & Associates.

Event sponsors include Delta Air Lines, Fairmont Century Plaza, GreenSlate, IMDbPro, McBride Sisters Wine Company; Milagro Tequila and NEP Sweetwater. Event partners are the Four Seasons Resort Nevis and Sunkist Growers.

Leave a Comment