Montclair Film Announces 2022 Festival Competition Winners! – Baristanet | Episode Movies

MONTCLAIR, NJ – The Montclair Film Festival (MFF) today announced the winners of the 2022 festival’s film competitions. This year’s festival featured four competition categories: Fiction, Documentary, Future/Now and New Jersey Filmmaking. In addition, the feature film and documentary film juries also awarded prizes to films for the festival’s short film competitions. The MFF also announced the 2022 Audience Awards and the Festival Junior Jury Awards.

“This year’s winners of our Jury and Audience Awards showcase the immense breadth of talent, perspective and passion that has framed the conversation around cinema at this year’s festival,” said Montclair Film Artistic Director and Co-Head Tom Hall. “Every single film in our competition programs has spoken to our judges and audiences in a resonant, powerful way, and we are so grateful for the opportunity to connect filmmakers with audiences that remain committed supporters of the art of cinema. Thank you to all our filmmakers who made this year’s Montclair Film Festival a great success.”

Feature Film Jury Awards


AFTERSUN, directed by Charlotte Wells, won the festival’s Feature Film Award, while CORSAGE, directed by Marie Kreutzer, received a Special Jury Award, and Vicky Krieps received a Special Jury Award for Performance for her performance in CORSAGE.


Feature Film Competition featured AFTERSUN directed by Charlotte Wells, CORSAGE directed by Marie Kreutzer, EO directed by Yjerzy Skolimowski, HOLY SPIDER directed by Ali Abbasi and RMN directed by Cristian Mungiu. The fiction judges were Dan O’Meara (NEON and SUPER LTD), Caryn James (film critic) and Sam Bergeson (Indiewire).

ALL THE BEAUTY AND THE BLOODSHED, directed by Laura Poitras, won the festival’s Bruce Sinosky Award for the Documentary Feature Competition

The nonfiction competition included ALL THAT BREATHES directed by Shaunak Sen, ALL THE BEAUTY AND THE BLOODSHED directed by Laura Poitras, LOUIS ARMSTRONG’S BLACK & BLUES directed by Sacha Jenkins, RETROGRADE directed by Matthew Heineman and THE VOLCANO: RESCUE FROM WHAKAARI directed by Rory Kennedy.

The non-fiction competition jury consisted of George Nicholis (Magnolia Pictures), Elizabeth Weitzman (film critic) and Thelma Adams (film critic).


NANNY, directed by Nikyatu Jusu, won the Future/Now Competition and WHEN MEN WERE MEN, directed by Aidan Dick & Izzi Rojas, received a Special Jury Award, with both films receiving the $5,000 Mark Urman Share Award For Fiction Filmmaking, which honors young career filmmakers. Established in 2019 in memory of film distribution director Mark Urman, a longtime Montclair resident, this award is funded by Montclair Film’s Mark Urman Award Fund.

The Future/Now competition included HANNAH HA HA directed by Joshua Pikobsky and Jordan Tetewsky, A LOT OF NOTHING directed by Mo McRae, NANNY directed by Nikyatu Jusu, THE UNKNOWN COUNTRY directed by Morrisa Maltz and WHEN MEN WERE MEN directed by Adian Dick and Izzi Rojas. The Future/Now jury consisted of John Fink (The Film Stage), Abbey White (film writer) and Nicolas Rapold (film critic).

HOME IS SOMEWHERE ELSE, directed by Carlos Hagerman and Jorge Villalobos, won the New Jersey Films Competition award.

The New Jersey Feature Competition showed BANDED TOGETHER: THE BOYS FROM GLEN ROCK HIGH directed by Barry Rubinow, HOME IS SOMEWHRE ELSE directed by Carlos Hagerman and Jorge Villalobos, OF MEDICINE AND MIRACLES directed by Ross Kauffman, REALTIVE directed by the Directed by Tracey Arcabasso Smith and THE YOUTUBE EFFECT directed by Alex Winter. The New Jersey Films Competition judges were Patrick Ryan (film critic), Keith Uhlich (film critic) and Julie Goldman (producer).

Audience Awards


The Feature Film Festival Audience Award went to REMEMBER THIS, directed by Jeff Hutchens and Derek Goldman. The Audience Award for the documentary went to WILDCAT, directed by Melissa Lesh and Trevor Beck Frost
THE QUIET GIRL, directed by Colm Bairéad, received the audience award for world cinema
The Audience Award for Short Film went to BENDIX: SITE UNSEEN, directed by Anthony Scalia

David Carr Prize

she said

SHE SAID, directed by Maria Schrader, took home the 8th Annual David Carr Award for Truth in Filmmaking, which honors a festival-selected filmmaker who uses exemplary journalistic techniques to explore important contemporary issues and who to Honors bestowed upon Mr. Carr include a commitment to truthful reporting.

junior jury

The whale

Each year, the Montclair Film Festival welcomes our Junior Jury, which is composed of fifteen local high school students representing twelve local schools. The Junior Jury awarded their grand prize to THE WHALE, directed by Darren Aronofsky. The Junior Jury also presented Eden Dambrine with a Special Jury Award for Performance for his work in Lukas Dhont’s CLOSE.

The 2022 Montclair Film Festival Junior Jury participants were Alyssa Arroyo (Nutley High School), Charlie Benson (Montclair High School), Genevieve Cai (Jackson Memorial High School), Diana Creaser (Montclair High School), Joshua Lancman (Golda Och Academy ), Sahana Mishra (Northern Valley Demarest Regional High School), Katie Pak (West Essex Regional High School), Ross Perlman (Columbia High School), Josh Talkow (Montclair Kimberley Academy), Asher Talty (Montclair High School), Nicole Texca ( Passaic High School), Janiah Valenzuela (Passaic County Technical Institute), Ava Vitali (Glen Ridge High School), Leah Waessa (Livingston High School), and Stella Williams (Columbia High School).

Short Film Jury Awards

AT LITTLE WHEELIE THREE DAYS AGO, directed by Andrew Stephen Lee, won the festival’s short film competition. The Fiction Shorts judges were Dan O’Meara (NEON and SUPER LTD), Caryn James (Film Critic) and Sam Bergeson (Indiewire).

NEIGHBOR ABDI, directed by Douwe Dijkstra, won the festival’s documentary short film competition. The Non-Fiction Shorts judged by George Nicholis (Magnolia Picture), Elizabeth Weitzman (Film Critic), Thelma Adams (Film Critic).
BENDIX: SITE UNSEEN, directed by Anthony Scalia, won the festival’s New Jersey Shorts competition. The competition included films in the categories of feature and non-fiction from New Jersey. The New Jersey Shorts Competition judges were Patrick Ryan (film critic), Keith Uhlich (film critic) and Julie Goldman (producer).

Leave a Comment